Source Water Protection Committee 


The mission of OAWWA Source Water Protection (SWP) Committee is to promote and encourage the protection of source waters throughout the state of Ohio - whether surface water or groundwater - through information sharing, education, and collaboration between water purveyors, the Ohio EPA, National’s AWWA SWP Committee, and other entities.


This committee began as a sub-committee of the OAWWA Technology Committee in 2019 through discussion about asset management and source water protection. Our committee members from Ohio Utilities and the Ohio EPA are actively involved in developing and implementing source water protection programs for their water utilities and want to help others! In late 2022, this committee became a full committee of OAWWA.

Committee Officers

CHAIR: Bruce Whitteberry, Greater Cincinnati Water Works [email protected]

VICE CHAIR: Jessica Glowczewski, City of Akron [email protected]

SECRETARY: Lorraine Krzyzewski, City of Columbus Department of Public Utilities ( [email protected])

Current Members

  • City of Akron
  • City of Columbus
  • City of Dayton
  • City of Middletown
  • City of Trenton
  • Greater Cincinnati Water Works
  • Hamilton to New Baltimore Groundwater Consortium
  • Northern Kentucky Water District
  • Ohio EPA Division of Drinking & Ground Waters
  • WSP Consultants


How to Join:

If you are interested in participating on the committee, please review our Standard Operating Procedures (below) and contact our Chair at: [email protected]